Jim Ondrusek presenting doctoral students Hannah Laird, Clay Eastwood, and Loni Lucherk (Texas Tech University) with scholarships

Twenty-one students from Texas A&M University were the beneficiaries of three different scholarships presented by the Southwest Meat Association at its annual convention: the Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarship, the SMA Hall of Honor Scholarship, and the SMA Foundation Scholarship. These scholarships were presented at the Chairman’s Dinner and Dance on July 22, 2017 at the Southwest Meat Association’s 61st Annual Convention and Supplier’s Showcase held at the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort, San Antonio, Texas.

Drew Cassens, Micki Gooch, Katy Jo Nickelson, Jim Ondrusek, Spencer Tindel, Jillian Milopoulos (Texas Tech University), McKensie Harris, and Marc Vogelsang

The Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarship, which was begun in 2000 by the SMA Foundation, is one of the greatest sources of scholarship funds for undergraduate and graduate students interested in meat science in the U.S. Bob Ondrusek left a lasting impression and impact on so many people through his business, Columbia Packing Company in Dallas, and through his charitable and personal support of the Southwest Meat Association, FFA, 4-H, and many other associations and activities.

Anna Schmidt, Kassidy Hakemack, Kirby Bohls, Jim Ondrusek, Natalie Bennett, Marley Grams, and Hunter Smith receiving scholarshipsAnna Schmidt, Kassidy Hakemack (Angelo State University), Kirby Bohls, Jim Ondrusek, Natalie Bennett (Tarleton State University), Marley Grams, and Hunter Smith (Tarleton State University)

The SMA Hall of Honor and SMA Foundation Scholarships come from donations and fundraising efforts by members. There were 34 scholarships presented including the Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarships.

Texas A&M University students and the scholarships they received follow:

Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarships

  • Hillary Martinez
  • Katy Jo Nickelson

SMA Hall of Honor Scholarships

  • Bryan “Bo” Garcia
  • Rebecca Kirkpatrick

SMA Foundation Scholarships

  • Tori Anaya
  • Kirby Bohls
  • Drew Cassens
  • Clay Eastwood
  • Meghan Clancy
  • Micki Gooch
  • Marley Grams
  • McKensie Harris
  • Jordan Hevner
  • Hannah Laird
  • Maggie Madden
  • Macey Randig
  • Tyler Roberts
  • Shelby Schiefelbein
  • Anna Schmidt
  • Spencer Tindel
  • Marc Vogelsang

Congratulations to all of the students for receiving these scholarships!

The post Students receive Bob Ondrusek Memorial, SMA Hall of Honor, and SMA Foundation Scholarships appeared first on Meat Science.

Source: Texas A&M